Let’s get over it and move on……….with Pizza Pinwheels

Published January 3, 2012 by Daisy Cake Company

20120104-170438.jpg

Right, Christmas is over…..deal with it!

This is a message to myself…….I’m not being a bully, just trying to shake myself out of the holiday mode.

I’ve read a lot of blogs over the last week (because I have a new reader on my new iPad and it’s great!), some have celebrated the passing of Christmas, and some have mourned it. I love Christmas. Really love it…….the family, the cooking, the eating, the time off work to go walking with the hubster and the dogs…….however, I also love getting the house and fridge back to normal, but I find it’s something I try to delay, mainly because it means I have to face up to life and work as normal.

I haven’t yet taken the decorations down. I desperately want to, but I have to wait for a certain someone to get the boxes back out of the loft. I’ve been promised it’ll be tomorrow. When they’re down I won’t like how bare the house will look whilst loving how clean and clear it is.

I think the reason I put it off is because I find that January is a gloomy month. The days are still short, the weather still cold and wet, and it seems like ages till the next promise of a holiday. So what else is there to do but to bake.

Now, I understand that all you want to do is get back on the wagon and get rid of all that Christmas bulk, but then it seems so hard when it’s cold and dark outside.

Here is a meal idea that you can adapted to being a bit more healthy, whilst being comforting and stodgy all at the same time. I’m not saying its a diet food, but there are healthier ingredient choices that won’t detract from the full on baked goodness of it.

Pizza Pinwheels
Dough:
125 gms self raising flour
25 gms butter at room temperature
60 ml milk

Filling:
3 tbspn Tomato Purée
1 onion, chopped
100 gms ham, chopped
1 small punnet of button mushrooms, sliced
50 gms cheese – low fat for a healthier option

Preheat your oven to 180c, 350f (gas mark 4)
Prepare a baking sheet by brushing lightly with oil, or spraying with a low fat spray such as Frylight
Sift the flour into a bowl and rub the butter in with your fingertips until you have a breadcrumb consistency.
Add the milk, spoon by spoon, and mix and cut the mixture with a flat edged knife, such as a palette knife, until the mixture comes together as a dough. Save 3 to 4 tbsns of milk.
With clean hands, bring the mixture together into a dough ball and turn out onto a floured surface
Roll the dough into a rough rectangular shape, approx 5 mm thick
Cut the edges to make a neat rectangle
Spread the dough with the tomato purée, leaving a 2 to 2.5cm border
Sprinkle with all your filling ingredients. You can vary the filling according to your tastes, I just fancied ham and mushroom, but you could use tuna and sweetcorn, or all vegetables, or goats cheese and caramelised onion etc etc. This is where you can choose your healthy options.
Save some of the cheese to sprinkle over the top
Roll your filled pizza into a roll, along the long edge – like a savoury Swissroll
To seal the roll, brush the last edge with the remaining milk to adhere it
Slice your roll into 2 to 3 cm slices and lay flat on the oiled tray
Sprinkle with the remaining cheese, and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden and the cheese is bubbly.

One comment on “Let’s get over it and move on……….with Pizza Pinwheels

  • Leave a Reply

