No Regrets Oreo Brownies

Published January 23, 2012 by Daisy Cake Company

20120123-121317.jpg

Regrets….I’ve had a few…..but then again too few to mention……

But I’m going to mention them anyway, so here they are:
– I regret the second bubble perm of the eighties (the first one should have been a lesson)
– I regret not buying a winning Roll-over Lottery ticket
– I regret not going to performing arts college and becoming Ruthie Henshall
– I regret being too young to see The Smiths live
– I regret not living on a farm (or in a beach house) so I can spend all day mooching about in the great outdoors with my lovely dogs
– I regret not embracing the sparkly side of myself sooner

AND I regret not making Brownies before this weekend!

Whilst wandering the aisles of the supermarket on Saturday I spotted a packet of Oreos, which I slipped into the basked with the vague thought ‘I’ll bake with them later’. But bake what??

My first stop for ideas, is probably the same as most people, the internet. So I put into Google ‘recipes with Oreo cookies’ and got 2,740,000 results!! Too many for me to even begin to comprehend. So my next option was to ask my Twitter buddies. Suggestions were cheesecake, truffles and brownies. In fact Alison was quite insistent about Brownies!!

Brownies? What better to do with Americas favourite cookie, than put them into Americas favourite cake. However, shockingly, I’d never made Brownies before, so I had to get the help from one of my most trusted books The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook (bought for me by Anna, who I met through WeightWatchers – oh the irony!)

So here are my take on The Traditional American Brownie, which I will of course be making every weekend, just to make for lost time!

20120123-125859.jpg

Oreo Brownies

1 packet of Oreos (minus the 2 eaten before making it into the bowl)
150 gms Dark chocolate, broken into small pieces
130 gms Unsalted Butter
220 gms Caster Sugar
130 gms Plain Flour
2 Eggs

Approx 20cm x 20cm baking tray at least 4cm deep

Preheat you oven to 170c, 150c fan or gas mark 3

Prepare you tray by greasing, and lining the bottom with grease proof paper or baking parchment

Place the chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water. Ensure the base of the bowl does not touch the water or the chocolate will burn.

Allow the butter and chocolate to melt, stirring occasionally until you get a silky fluid consistency.

20120123-130600.jpg
Try to avoid just drinking this straight down, it really is worth putting the other ingredients in….honest!

Remove the bowl from the heat and stir in the caster sugar

Next mix in the flour until well combined

Break in the eggs and mix until you have a smooth, thick mixture

Break each Oreo Cookie into quarters (or there abouts)

And lastly, mix through the Oreos. Don’t be too heavy handed or they will break apart

Pour the mix into your prepared tray and smooth out to the edges

Bake for 20 – 30 minutes, or until the top is crunchy and flaky, but the inside is still soft when you gently press it with your finger

Remove from the oven and allow to cool before removing from the tray and cutting into pieces.

Allowing it to cool completely is, to be honest, optimistic, because when you smell it you will want to eat it NOW!!!!

20120123-131158.jpg

6 comments on “No Regrets Oreo Brownies

  • Leave a Reply

