Lemon Cupcakes

Published February 4, 2012 by Daisy Cake Company

I love cupcakes!!

They are my favourite type of cake to make.

Everything about them makes me happy: choosing flavours, designing new recipes, choosing the cases, deciding on the frosting, decorating them, and above all eating them.

Cupcakes allow you to have your own little cake, that you don’t have to share, and that’s been baked and decorated just for you!!

This week I had an order of Baby Shower Cupcakes to make. Vanilla sponge with yellow and white frosting, sprinkled with edible glitter and topped with handmade babies dummy.

As the theme was yellow and white, and I knew I would have some spare frosting (well you just know these things…especially when you make a little bit too much), I thought I’d make a few extras with a lemony flavour.

Using my standard vanilla sponge mix I added the juice and zest of an unwaxed lemon. The zest is the bit you really want, as that’s where the flavour and scent is.

After the cakes had had been baked and fully cooled, I topped them with a swirl of ‘spare’ buttercream frosting and topped with glitter and the spare dummies I’d made.

The dummies are every so easy – all you need is a disc, a ball and a loop made from fondant icing, which are then all stuck together using edible glue (or water), and then left to dry for a day or two.

Perfect with a warming cup of tea, on a cold winters weekend.

4 comments on “Lemon Cupcakes

  • Leave a Reply

