The Epic Cookie

Published February 10, 2012 by Daisy Cake Company

Inspiration and ideas come in many varied ways.

My preferred time to come up with amazing ideas is when I’m walking the dogs – something to do with endorphines and oxygen to the brain I’d imagine.

But occasionally I come up with some belters just in day to day life….like when I don’t want to get out of bed because it’s all warm and snuggly, why not make a cape out of the duvet – that kind of thing, and ok, I’m not saying they’re all great ideas, but they still pop into my head!

Mostly I don’t act on these ideas, because they are just stooooopid, but……..

The other day we had pizza for dinner, which I baked on my clever round baking tray made specially for pizzas. As I was taking the pizza out of the oven I thought “How good would it be to have a cookie this size?”.

So……….ta da…….the pizza sized Epic Cookie!!!

I have had another idea – for another day when I haven’t eaten a big chunk of my Epic Cookie – why not cover it in melted chocolate and various sweets for a full sweet pizza experience?!!!!! But for now, just marvel at the wonder of this humungous biscuity delight………

The Epic Cookie

170 gms Light Brown Sugar (or 100gms light brown and 70gms dark brown for a chewier texture)
125 gms Unsalted butter at room temperature
1 egg
200 gms Plain Flour
1/4 tspn salt
1 1/4tspn Bicarbonate of Soda
100 gms Chocolate Chips (I used Smarties)

Pre-heat you oven to 120c (100c fan), gas mark 2

Prepare a baking sheet (or round pizza baking tray) with a large piece of greasproof paper

Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl

Add the egg and mix in fully

Sieve together the flour, Bicarbonate of Soda and Salt and add to the butter, sugar and egg mix. Beat until well combined and a dough is formed.

Mix in the chocolate chips

Then pile it all up in the middle of your baking sheet. Pat it down till its about 1 to 1.5 inches thick and bake for 30 minutes.

It will spread on the sheet, so don’t push it right to the edges, or you’ll be cleaning your oven.

When its baked, it will have crispy edges, be crunchy on top, but with a slight bounce to the middle. Remove from the oven and leave to cool for 10 minute before transfering it (paper and all) onto a wire rack.

As it’s baked slowly it should be crunchy on top and still gooey in the middle, which means in cuts perfectly into slices.

3 comments on “The Epic Cookie

  • “Epic” is a great name for your cookie! I have a question for you … I remember Smarties from years ago when I lived near Canada and watched Canadian TV. Smarties were like M&M’s candies in the U.S. Is that what you used?

    • They’re the ones!! Used to come in a tube with a plastic lid, but now sadly come in a hexagonal box with no plastic – I guess it’s all about recycling, but the tubes and lids had great popping childish weapon potential.

  • Leave a Reply

