Cream Cheese Frosting

Published February 26, 2012 by Daisy Cake Company

20120226-093241.jpg

Cream Cheese Frosting….easy?!

You’d think so eh? After all it’s a basic frosting, so it should be easy!

But for ages – and I mean ages and ages – I was totally incapable of making a Cream Cheese Frosting without buttery lumps in it, didn’t slide right off of the cake, or wasn’t so sweet it made your teeth ache just looking at it!

But then a couple of months ago, I made another attempt at it, and I cracked it! I made some great Cream Cheese Frosting. So I wrote down the instructions, to make sure I always made great Cream Cheese Frosting. Yay….easy after all!!

But then, a friend, who had recently started baking, asked me about Cream Cheese Frosting, because hers was a bit of a sloppy mess. Hmmmm, so maybe it wasn’t just me after all!

Therefore, I have decided to share with you my method, as I’d hate for others to go through the distress of failing to make this seemingly easy frosting.

Firstly a few tips:
Fat – now is NOT a time to get healthy on me. Use FULL fat!! Use butter from a block, not margarine or spreadable butter and use full fat cream cheese.

Whisk – get yourself a good whisk. If you don’t have one already get to the shops and buy yourself a basic electric one……I promise you won’t look back.

Milk – DO NOT under any circumstances add milk to your mix!!!!!

20120226-094335.jpg

Cream Cheese Frosting

125gms Full Fat Cream Cheese at room temperature
50gms Butter at room temperature, no softer
450-500gms Icing Sugar

First start by whisking the butter and cream cheese together for a good 3 to 4 minutes. If you don’t do this you are in danger of having buttery lumps in the frosting – I’ve been there!

Next add half of the icing sugar and whisk. On low at first and then medium speed.

In order to not disappear under a cloud of icing sugar, if your mixer/whisk doesn’t have a cover, I recommend you get a clean damp tea towel and lay it over your bowl, tucking your mixer/whisk underneath.

20120226-095036.jpg

Add the rest of the icing sugar and again whisk on low, and increase the speed slowly to maximum.

Now whisk….just whisk….for about 5 to 10 minutes. The longer the better!!

By whisking you are adding air to your frosting, which, in the same way it does to egg white, makes it stiffer, fluffier and generally awesome.

Cream Cheese Frosting is never going to be as stiff and versatile as a good buttercream. But if you follow the tips and recipe above you will get a good, structural, frosting which is great for all flavour cakes.

I put my recent batch on a carrot cake which I took to my first Clandestine Cake Club.

20120226-095431.jpg

3 comments on “Cream Cheese Frosting

    • Hi,
      Thanks for your comment. The designs are done with a palette knife, pull the rounded end of your knife up from the bottom of the cake – its that easy! Make sure you do it before the icing needs to dry or it will crack.
      Bronya x

  • Leave a Reply

