All in 1 Cake Bars

Published June 6, 2012 by Daisy Cake Company

20120606-190120.jpg

Firstly I must apologise for being MIA for nearly 2 months. My ‘proper’ job has been crazy busy, but hopefully it’s now all calmed down (well for the time being anyway).

Anyway, now I’M BACK!!!!

I love being busy, but there is a down side – the lack of baking time! Baking is my relaxation, so on top of being busy, I feel extra stressed because I haven’t had time to put on my pinny, roll up my sleeves and get the mixer out.

To celebrate getting back in the kitchen I have made something, quick, easy, yummy, crumby and colourful.

Quite often I see recipes which include a boxed cake mix. Now I’m not a box mix snob, but I just don’t see the point, and these All in 1 Cake Bars are so easy to make, a box of mix is probably harder to use.

20120606-200319.jpg

All in 1 Cake Bars

1 Egg
120gms Granulated Sugar
60gms Butter at room temperature
180g Self Raising Flour (sifted)

Pre-heat your oven to 150c, 130c fan, Gas Mark 2.

Grease a small baking tray, I used a 6″ x 4″ disposable tray.

Put ALL the ingredients in a bowl and mix together, using either an electric mixer or a wooden spoon. Mix until it all comes together as thick bredcrumbs.

Squish all the mixture into the base of the prepared baking tray, and flatten down.

Bake for 25 minutes.

When baked remove from the oven and allow to cool before turning out onto a wire rack. Beware, the mix is quite dry, which makes it lovely and crumbly, but it may mean it falls apart as you turn it out of the tray.

When cool, frost with buttercream and cover with colourful sprinkles.

20120606-201121.jpg

5 comments on “All in 1 Cake Bars

  • Leave a Reply

